Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey

Posted: May 19, 2009 in Fantasy, love stories, suspense stories, vampires


I was worried about contracting vampire overload, but JGTDOTDS was engaging with genuine characters.

Jessica is an adopted high school senior living in Pennsylvania with her colorful, organic, vegan parents. Her first day of senior year starts ominously with an unsettling, commanding figure stalking her at the bus stop, calling her by her birth name “Antanasia.” (With that name, I knew that she was in for a troubling senior year!) The stranger appears on the bus, then in English class where his charms and intellect affect even the teacher. Jessica muses that his teeth gleamed “like well-tended weaponry.” Young lady, if you only knew! It does not take long for Lucius Vladescu to reveal his intentions of finalizing the wishes of his and Jessica’s families’ plans to seal their union as a truce between the warring vampire kingdoms of Romania.

I loved Beth’s character development which made the story alive with intense Lucius, scheming Faith, steady Jake, wild Melinda, and thoroughly confused, mathlete Jessica. Poor girl! How many have to plow through a book called “Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions?” Jessica reels through her now crazy life with wry commentaries about her parents, nemeses, and the obvious vampire in the room.

If you think there cannot be another good teen vampire book, think again. Obviously there is another twist of the tale about the boys from Romania.

I loved the dress and pendant of the cover. But I don’t recall them dancing while Antanasia wore it…. Nonetheless, the climax was no less than WOW!

I cannot wait to read and review Beth’s second book, Jekel Loves Hyde.

ENDERS Rating: Sure to be a success!

Beth Fantaskey’s Website

Comments
  1. Joan says:

    Idea….Cast Adam Lambert, Idol finalist at Lucius!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wow! Thanks for your outstanding review… I’m so glad you liked the book, and I appreciate you sending me the heads up! Beth

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sorry to hear about your hurt knee. Knees are never fun when they’re not working well. But I’m glad you had a good visit with Mr. Crutcher! I love the cover of Jessica’s Guide… so I’m glad to hear the book was good, as well. I’m still making my way through the Twilight series, so I think I’ll work on that before touching any of the other vampire novels. And I heard there’s several more coming out in the near future. Take care,Jay P.S. Thanks for the great cartoon!

  4. robin_titan says:

    I can't wait to read her next book either. I really liked her writing, very nice especially the whole book haha 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    For all the fantastic fans of Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side who’ve asked for more of Jess and Lucius’s story, I have some news on the next chapters… Click here! Bethbethfantaskey.comhttp://twitter.com/bethfantaskey

  6. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much! Too bad I can't assign my book for my public speaking class… that would be a nice way to get readers, too! Bethbethfantaskey.comhttp://twitter.com/bethfantaskey

Leave a Reply

